Advanced Search
Business | Metro | Nation | World | Sports | Features | Specials | Delta Stories
Chinese leaders vote in local elections
9/11/2006 9:37

President Hu Jintao cast his ballot at a polling booth in the Zhongnanhai, in central Beijing, yesterday, to elect new deputies for the local people's congress in his district.

Former President Jiang Zemin also voted at the same polling station which is in the compound housing the headquarters of the central government and the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC).

Other leaders casting their votes at their own polling stations included Wu Bangguo, Wen Jiabao, Jia Qinglin, Zeng Qinghong, Wu Guanzheng, Li Changchun, and Luo Gan.

Huang Ju, who was out of the town on business, asked his assistant staff to vote for him in Beijing.

Over 8 million voters in this national capital voted at over 12,000 polling booths, to elect 4,403 legislators at district level, and 9,983 at the township level.

Xinhua News