Advanced Search
Business | Metro | Nation | World | Sports | Features | Specials | Delta Stories
Bangladesh Election Commission announces results of 299 seats in Parliamentary elections
31/12/2008 17:20

Bangladesh Election Commission (EC) today announced the results of 299 seats in the 9th Parliamentary elections held on Monday.
With the results of 295 seats were announced yesterday and 4 more seats were announced today, all winners from the 299 constituencies out of 300 in the country are clear.
The election for one seat was rescheduled to be held on Jan. 12, 2009 due to the death of one candidate.
According to EC, former prime minister Sheikh Hasina-led Awami League won 231 seats, former prime minister Khaleda Zia-led Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) won 29 seats, former president Muhammad Ershad-led Jatiya Party won 27 seats, JSD won 3 seats, Workers Party of Bangladesh won 2 seats, Bangladesh Jamaate Islami won 2 seats, Bangladesh Jatiya Party won 1 seat, LDP won 1 seat and independents won 3 seats.
EC will publish the final results of the elections in a government gazette, then the newly-elected members of Parliament will be swore in.
According to the law, any party which wins majority seats in Parliament election will be qualified to form a government.
With Hasina-led Awami League won more than two third seats, so Awami League will be qualified to former the next government.
The 9th Parlimentary elections was scheduled to be held on Jan. 22, 2007. Due to the differences between BNP and Awami League over election issues, the political situation deteriorated. President Iajuddin Ahmed on Jan. 11, 2007 had to declared state of emergency and postponed the election.
The new caretaker government headed by former central bank governor Fakhruddin Ahmed took office on Jan. 12, 2007 and has promised to hold a free and fair elections.